Skip to content

Better Health, Hair/Skin Supplement Challenge Week 1

January 28, 2014

It’s the first week of my ‘Healthy Hair/Skin Supplement Challenge’. I started this challenge because last year while on my length retention challenge, I started taking MSM supplements for a swollen knee only to realize discover that it helped restore the bald patches on my hair line.

I continued to take the MSM supplements and also started to take protein supplement as I realised that I hadn’t been getting enough protein and that this was not only affecting the rate of my hair growth but over time resulted in my the individual strands of my hair thinning, growing out very fragile, weak.

For the remainder of my length retention challenge I noticed that the bald patches on my head and my hair line begun to thicken and regrow. My hair line also extended beyond what I had grown to believe was my hair line. My lashes also seemed to gain some length.

These results which I observed over a period of 7 months (protein and MSM supplementation) made me realize just how important health was to healthy hair growth. I know I have said it before and I have sincerely led myself to believe that despite my poor eating habits, terrible appetite, deep down, I was a healthy person.

Realizing how unhealthy I am/was has brought on this challenge to help me monitor and hopefully inspire some of you who are struggling to grow your hair to take a good hard look at your diets and how they may be impacting your hair growth.

Last week I started my challenge and specified what nutrients I would be taking over the challenge to get healthier and hopefully grow healthier hair!

Well it’s been one week only and no I haven’t noticed any dramatic changes in my hair but my clothes are a little bit looser. I have stuck to my exercise regiment of three weight sessions per week although I only managed two walking sessions.

I managed to take my vitamins and drunk over three litters of water (8 cups of water). I did not eat has much vegetables as I hoped I would or fruits. Still working on it!

Below are photos of my progress.

August 2013

Protein Deficiency Start

Below Jan 2014

Protein Deficiency Jan 2014

I noticed an increased amount of growth in the above picture after starting to take B vitamins which I think I did in late December.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment